Hyperbole in the song “A Year Without Rain” by Selena Gomez

Posted: March 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

A hyperbole is a huge exaggeration, for example the lake seemed endless, the tree reached the moon. In the song “A Year Without Rain” by Selena Gomez, the first hyperbole in the song is “I’ve been wondering in the desert for a thousand days”. This a huge exaggeration because,  you could not wander the desert for a thousand days, just impossible, and the other hyperbole, is ” A day without you  is like a year without rain”, this is also a huge exaggeration because it is impossible to have a year without rain. I thought th hyperboles helped emphasize how she was felling without her man. If you would like to hear this song just follow the link bellow.

http://www.playlist.com/searchbeta/tracks#a%20year%20without%20rain/all/1

Comments
  1. germanhotdog says:

    Hey Connor your doing a really good job on your project I think youre explaning it really well you really describe the terms correctly. Overall I think you’ll get an A+. Theres one question thought. I have one question though it is well what is your favorite song

  2. Seth says:

    This is the same song that I did. I think it is pretty good for exaggeration and is a good hyperbole. Technichally you can wander in the desert for a thousand days you just need alot of food and water. It is also not impossible to have a year withourt rain in a certain area. I really don’t like this song I just used it for my hyperbole.

Leave a Reply

